2015 Municipal Elections

2015 City Council Candidates
Below are the individuals who filed Declaration for Official Candidacy for Cedar City Council.
  • Don Marchant
  • Kip C. Hansen
  • Terri Hartley
  • Craig Isom
  • Paul Cozzens
  • John Black
There are three (3) seats open. Cedar City will not have a primary election this year.

2015 Campaign Financial Reports

Utah election code 10-3-208 states that all municipalities shall adopt an ordinance establishing campaign finance disclosure requirements for candidates running for city or town office. Following are reports from each of this election's candidates.
Official Municipal Primary Election Results, 2015
View the official primary election results.

Message from Mayor Wilson:

Although every street corner in the town hasn’t been 
filled with campaign signs, it doesn’t mean that this election is any less important than any of our previous elections. This year we have three seats open on the City Council and six candidates running for office. The candidates are: John Black, Paul Cozzens, Kip Hansen, Terri Hartley, Craig Isom and Don Marchant. The GENERAL ELECTION will be held on Tuesday, November 3rd, 2015 with the polls open from 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. If you haven’t registered to vote yet, it is not too late. However, voters who have moved or changed their name must register or re-register to vote. Registering or reregistering for the general election can be done either online (www.vote.utah.gov) or in person, as long as your registration is completed by October 27th, 2015. Again this year we are also offering early voting in the City Council Chambers at the City Offices at 10 North Main Street. Early voting dates and times are as follows: October 20th and 21st - 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., October 22nd and 23rd - 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., October 27th and 28th - 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and October 29th and 30th - 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Remember, whether you are early voting or voting on November 3rd you need to bring your ID with you to the polls!

On Thursday, October 22nd there will be a Cedar City Council Debate hosted by the SUU Michael O. Leavitt Center for Politics and Public Service. This debate has been set up to help inform the citizens of Cedar City about the candidates and their plan for our community if elected. The debate will be in the SUU Sharwan Smith Student Center Ballroom. There will be a Meet and Greet with the City Council Candidates from 6:30 p.m. - 7 p.m. with the debate going from 7 p.m. - 8 p.m. For more information contact Bailey Bowthorpe at (801) 599-0694.